Hamsa Yoga 101: Decoding This Mysterious Aspect of Hora-shastra

Spread the love

Vedic astrology might seem a little more complicated than Western Astrology, and that’s because it is: with literally hundreds of thousands of Gods, Demons, Saints, and Deities ruling the Hindu cosmos, Vedic astrology, or Hora-shastra, is an extremely complex system of understanding the stars, fates, destinies, and how all of this impacts us both as individuals and as a society.

Also known as Jyotisha or, more commonly, Hora-shastra, Vedic astrology has been around for at least 5,000 years; in fact, many major universities in India offer advanced degrees in Vedic astrology, where students can study the multitude of concepts therein.

One of the concepts we’ll discuss today is the concept of Yoga. Unlike the popular conception of Yoga in today’s world, Yoga in Hora-shastra is an entirely different concept that is only mildly related to the now widespread philosophical school of thought.

What is Yoga in Hora-shastra?

Derived from the Sanskrit root word Yuj, meaning to join, control, or integrate, Yoga in Vedic Astrology refers to the way certain planets form certain relationships with one another, whether it’s their placement in the cosmos at a specific time, what aspect or elements of each planet is in a specific spot in the heavens, the distance of one planet to another.

Each Yoga leads to a different kind of result, depending on a large number of factors, from how many planets that are in a specific position, which Houses those planets are Lords of, what aspects each planet rules, how far they are from a specific planet, and so on and so forth.

What are the Different Kinds of Yogas?

woman doing yoga stretching

There are numerous Yogas in Vedic mythology, thanks to the near-infinite number of positions possible. Different Hora-shastra schools of thought differ in how many exact Yogas there are, but here, we’ll discuss a few common ones:

Rāja Yoga

This Yoga is believed to provide authority, an elevated status, and positive fame. It’s believed to be formed by the Lord of Keṅdras when reckoned from the Lagna, and the Lords of the Tṛkoṇa. Many Vedic astrologers believe that Rāja yogas are the fulfillment of Viṣhṇu and Lakṣmī‘s blessings.

Dhana Yoga

This Yoga is formed through the association of certain wealth-giving planets, namely such as the Dhaneśa and Lābheśa, the 2nd and 11th Lord from the Lagna. The auspicious placing of the Dārāpada completes the Dhana Yogas form, especially when it is reckoned with the Ārūḍha Lagna.

Sanyāsa Yoga

A Yoga formed by the placement of for grahas (not including the Sun) in a Keṅdra Bhāva from the Lagna.

Kartari Yoga

Also known as Scissors Yoga, this yoga (or group of yogas) is formed from planets that surround another planet or a specific House. Often, the most common type of Kartari Yoga is when either two benefic planets or two malefic planets enclose another planet or House.

But perhaps one of the most well-known and important Yogas is the Hamsa Yoga.

What is Hamsa Yoga?

close up photo of astrological chart

In most Vedic traditions, the Hamsa Yoga occurs when the planet Jupiter is present in the Ascendant of Keṅdra. This places Jupiter within the 1st, 4th, 7th, or 10th house from Ascendant in Pisces, Capricorn, or Sagittarius.

When the Hamsa Yoga is formed, it can bless people born under this auspicious Yoga (i.e. natives) with a large amount of luck, prosperity, and success in the fields of religion and spiritualism. Hamsa Yoga natives are naturally wealthy, with money seemingly not too far away from them at any given point. In fact, many people swear that Hamsa Yoga natives have the ability to conjure up money whenever they want to, leading many people to believe that the Hamsa Yoga gifts people with supernatural powers.

While these powers might not be comic book superhero powers, it’s something far more powerful: inspiration. The Hamsa Yoga blesses natives with a constant stream of inspiration, even turning them into objects of inspiration themselves, leading many Hamsa Yoga natives to become natural public speakers or spiritual leaders.

Because of this, Hamsa Yoga natives can achieve great things and inspire a great many people, making them a natural for religious or spiritual positions. In this line of work, they can achieve a very high status and gain a large amount of honor, not to mention inspire scores of people to become devotees (of course, this depends on the other aspects of their horoscopes, but it is more likely).

But not all Hamsa Yoga natives are destined for religion, many become successful businessmen, using their natural ability to find ways to generate profit becoming an important asset for any industry they work in. Hamsa Yoga natives are able to wield inspiration and turn it into creativity, finding solutions to problems that other people can never have dreamed of. Jupiter rules Hamsa Yoga, so any field under his domain are what Hamsa yoga natives can thrive in.

Hamsa yoga natives have a tendency to lead lavish and luxurious lifestyles; however, far from being selfish, Hamsa Yoga natives love to extend their luxury to the people around them. The most common thought that goes through a Hamsa Yoga native’s head is “I want everyone to be as rich as me!”, and they execute this thought by using their wealth and creativity for the benefit of the disadvantaged and the poor.

The formation of Hamsa Yoga is rare, making their natives rare as well. In fact, the Hamsa Yoga is present only once in every 12 Yogas. Because the probability of Jupiter being placed in a particular house or sign is only one out of 144, since there are only 12 possible houses and 12 possible signs it can fall under. Of course, there are more factors involved in the creation of a Hamsa Yoga native, but in general, it’s a rare sign.

But the most important aspect of a Hamsa Yoga formation is the presence of Jupiter as a benefic planet. If Jupiter is present in any house as a malefic planet, it is no longer considered a Hamsa Yoga.

Spread the love
Scroll to Top